Word 2010

What happened to Insert, File command in Word 2010

As I come across commands that have moved in 2003 I will try to let everyone know where to find them in Word 2010. I myself do not use the Insert, File command much but some do and I am going to let you all in on where it has moved to in Word 2010. As you might guess the first step is to click on the Insert tab. Then click the down arrow next to the Object button in the Text group and select Text from File. Insert, File has changed to Text from File. From the next dialog choose the file you want to insert and it will be inserted at the cursor. If you checked out my previous post about adding commands to the Quick Access Toolbar you can add a button to insert a file with one click. Here are the steps:

  • Click the down arrow next to the QAT and select More Commands… toward the bottom of the dropdown
  • At the top of the dialog is another dropdown. Switch it from Popular Commands to All Commands.
  • Scroll the list until you see the Insert File command and select it and click the Add button.
  • Click OK and you will see the new button added to the QAT.

As I find the commands I will pass the word along to all of you. If you find you can’t do something from a previous version of Word in 2010 let me know and we will figure it out together.

Leave a comment